By Jarrett Skorup| Michigan Capitol Confidential
LANSING — Want to make a little extra cash painting houses this summer? Thanks to Michigan’s licensing apparatus, it’ll cost you.
Michigan law requires painting contractors to pay $235, take 60 hours of state-approved pre-licensure education, pass two exams and be more than 18 years of age, according to the Institute for Justice, a libertarian public interest law firm.
Michigan is one of only 10 states that licenses painters — and only five states require any education to paint for a living.
Lisa Knepper, director of strategic research at the institute, said occupational licensing has “rapidly become a burden.”
“We looked at 102 occupations affecting low- or middle-income workers. What we found is that these licensing burdens are not only widespread, but irrational,” she said. “Workers spend a lot of time getting licensed rather than working.”